Exploring the Chakras

The chakras are centres of energy in the astral spine which is the energy counterpart to our spine and brain. It is where consciousness, energy and physiology meets in the body. These centres govern the core emotional and physical functions of your being. They are the holistic link between mind, body, energy and spirit . Yoga postures, breathing techniques, mantra, sound and meditation can awaken and balance these centres. When out of harmony, vital life force is unable to freely circulate resulting in disharmony or lack of mind/body integrity. When energies of the body are balanced, energies of the mind are balanced. Yoga meaning ‘Union’ or to ‘Yoke’ aims to unite, balance and support our systems through the Chakras leading to ‘ease’ over 'dis’ease’, health and wellness.

When we work with the chakras to reach higher consciousness our goal is to reverse the flow of energy that is downward and outward and bring it inward and upward.


The crown chakra is the seventh chakra. Located at the top of the head, it allows us access to higher states of consciousness as we open to what is beyond our personal preoccupations and visions. Thousand petal lotus representing infinite space and union with the Divine.

Location: The very top of the head


Our ability to love.

Location: Center of chest just above the heart


Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area


Sacral Chakra

Our connection and ability to accept others

and new experiences

Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in


Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

Location: Forehead between the eyes


Our ability to communicate

Location: Throat


Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.